UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION WASHINGTON, D. C.

NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY TO PETITION FOR REVIEW OF DETERMINATION THAT THE NORTHERN BRANCH OF THE CRUSHED STONE INDUSTRY IS, AND THE SOUTHERN BRANCH OF THAT INDUSTRY IS NOT, AN INDUSTRY OF A SEASONAL NATURE PURSUANT TO SECTION 7(b)(3) OF THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT OF 1938 AND PART 526 AS AMENDED OF REGULATIONS ISSUED THERE—UNDER.

WHEREAS, applications have been made by the National Crushed Stone Association and sundry other parties, under Section 7(b)(3) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, and Regulations, Part 526, as amended, (Regulations applicable to Industries of a Seasonal Nature), issued by the Administrator thereunder, for partial exemption of the crushed stone industry from the maximum hours provisions of Sections 7(a) of said Act pursuant to Section 7(b)(3) applicable to industries found by the Administrator to be of a seasonal nature; and

WHEREAS, a public hearing on said applications was held before Harold Stein, the representative of the Administrator, duly authorized to take testimony, hear argument and determine whether or not the crushed stone industry is an industry of a seasonal nature within the meaning of Section 7(b)(3) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, and Part 526 of Regulations issued thereunder; and

WHEREAS, following such hearing, the said Harold Stein duly made his findings of fact and determined as follows:

- 1. There is a branch of the crushed stone industry (as defined herein) wherein the plants normally shut down for about six months each year, except for an insubstantial amount of production that may be produced shortly before or shortly after the main production season. This branch is located in the colder and, in general, more northerly parts of the United States; and
- 2. There is a southern branch of the industry wherein the plants do not shut down at all or do not normally shut down for a substantial period each year; and
- The plants in the northern branch cease operation annually at a regularly recurring season of the year, except for sales, maintenance, and similar work,

because the materials used by the industry are not available for excavation, handling and processing in the form in which they must be excavated, handled, and processed, i. e., as unfrozen ledges, and banks of blasted rock, because of climatic factors; and

- 4. The northern branch of the crushed stone industry is an industry of a seasonal nature within the meaning of Section 7(b)(3) of the Act and Part 526 of Regulations issued thereunder; and
- 5. The southern branch of the crushed stone industry is not an industry of a seasonal nature within the meaning of the Act and the Regulations; and
- 6. For the purpose of this Determination the crushed stone industry shall mean the blasting and excavating of stone for crushing from surface or open cuts, the transportation, handling, and crushing of such stone, and the sizing, washing, and grading of crushed stone, together with other necessary processing incidental thereto.
 - 7. For the purpose of this Determination the northern branch of the crushed stone industry shall include all plants located in counties that lie within the isothermic belt below 25 degrees Fahrenheit or are touched by the 25 degree isotherm on Figure 5 of the American Atlas of Agriculture issued by the United States Department of Agriculture. The said counties are listed in Appendix A attached hereto and incorporated herewith by reference.
 - 8. This Determination shall be without prejudice to a supplementary Determination enlarging the scope of the Northern branch by the inclusion therein of such plants or groups of plants, if any, as operate in the same manner and for the same reasons as the plants in the Northern branch described in paragraphs 1 and 3 above.

WHEREAS, said Findings and Determination were duly filed with the Administrator on May 27, 1940, and are now on file in Room 5144, Department of Labor Building, Washington, D. C., and available for examination by all interested parties:

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the provisions of Section 526.7 of the aforesaid Regulations, notice is hereby given that any person aggrieved by the said Determination may, within fifteen days

after the date this notice appears in the Federal Register, file a petition with the Administrator requesting that he review the action of the said representative upon the record of hearing before the said representative.

Signed at Washington, D. C., this 5th day of June, 1940.

Baird Snyder, Acting Administrator
Wage and Hour Division

Department of Labor

Published in Federal Register, June 11, 1940.

APPENDIX A

A. All counties in the States of:

Iowa South Dakota
Maine Utah

Maine Utan
Minnesota Vermont
Montana Wisconsin, and

New Hampshire Wyoming

North Dakota

B. All the counties in the State of Colorado except the counties of:

Adams Lincoln Arapahoe Logan Baca Morgan Bent Otero Cheyenne Phillips Prowers Crowley Denver Pueblo Douglas Sedgwick Elbert Washington Kiowa Weld, and Kit Carson Yuma

All the counties in the State of Connecticut except the counties of:

Middlesex Tolland, and
New London Windham

All the counties in the State of Idaho except the counties of:

Ada Lincoln
Benewah Minidoka
Canyon Nez Perce
Gooding Owyhee
Jerome Payette, an

Jerome Payette, and Latah Twin Falls

Lewis

All the counties in the State of Michigan except the counties of:

Berrian and Monroe

All the counties in the State of Nebraska except the counties of:

Adams Harlan Hayes Banner Hitchcock Buffalo Chase Jefferson Cheyenne Kearney Clay Kimball. Dawson Nuckolls Deuel Pawnee Dundy Perkins Franklin Phelps Frontier Redwillow Furnas Richardson Thayer, and Gosper Hall Webster

All the counties in the State of New York except Figure 1 and the first the counties of:

Genesse Seneca Monroe Suffalk Nassau Wayne Niagara Westchester, and Orleans all the counties of Rockland the City of New York

The following counties in the following states:

State of Illinois: Boone Lee Bureau McHenry Carroll Marshall Mercer Cook Ogle DeKalb Peoria DuPage Putnam Henderson Rock Island Henry Stark Jo Daviess Kane Stephenson Kendall Warren Knox Whiteside Lake Will, and La Salle

State of Indiana:

Allen · Marshall Noble DeKalb Elkhart Saint Joseph

Winnebago

State of Indiana: (cont'd)

Kosciusko Steuben, and Lagrange Whitley

State of Massachusetts:

Berkshire Hampshire Middlesex, and Franklin Hampden Worcester

State of Missouri:

Atchison Putnam Centry Schuyler Harrison Scotland Holt Sullivan, and Mercer

Nodaway

State of Nevada:

Elko Eureka, and White Pine

State of New Mexico:

Colfax Sante Fe, and Nora Taos

Rio Arriba

State of Ohio: Williams

State of Oregon:

Baker Lane Clackamus Linn Deschutes Marion Omatilla Grant Hodd River Union, and Jefferson Wasco

State of Pennsylvania:

Bradford Susquehanna Erie Tioga Lackawanna Warren McKean Wayne, and Pike Wyoming

Potter

Pierce

State of Washington:

Chelan Skagit Ferry Skamania Snohomish King Kittitas Spokane Lewis Stevens Okanogan Whatcom, and

Pend Oreille Yakima

(4690)